The Greyhound Melbourne Cup

The Greyhound Melbourne Cup at Sandown Park is greyhound racing’s richest race.

The Greyhound Melbourne Cup

The $500,000 TAB Melbourne Cup features the best of the best competing that greyhound racing has to offer. Run over 515m at Sandown Park in Melbourne, Australia, the Cup was first run in 1956.

In the lead-up to The final of the Melbourne Cup, greyhounds must qualify by winning an ‘exemption race’. They then compete in eight heats conducted over the previous week, with each winner gaining an entry into the Melbourne Cup final.

Last 5 winners of the Greyhound Melbourne Cup

Year Winner Trainer Time Distance
2012 Got a Moment Jason Thompson 29.37 515m
2011 Dyna Tron Andrea Dailly 29.21 515m
2010 El Grand Senor Carolyn Jones 29.55 515m
2009 Lord Ducal Jon Roberts 29.53 515m
2008 Surgeon Darren McDonald 29.87 515m

Comments are closed.